20
Apr
09

ZA50 Breakdown Videos

My Puch Sport MKII’s ZA50 had a loose 1st gear nut and after pulling away from a stoplight, it blew the bearing ring out through the clutch case cover.  Here is the breakdown and reassembly I had to do to get it running again.

This was the first time I ever took apart my motor, so please excuse the fact that I may have used the wrong terminologies at times…however, I feel SO much closer and more in tune with my bike now that it’s running again.  Hopefully these videos will help some people know what to expect when they open up their case and not have to experience some of the trials and tribulations that I faced going in.

VIDEOS AFTER THE JUMP.

ZA50 First Opening


Looking at the 1st Gear and Clutch Bell


** I forgot to turn the video camera on when I took off the 1st and 2nd gear clutches, but the only thing to note is the lock washer, which I explain later in retrospect while reassembling the clutches.

The 2nd Gear


Removing 2nd Gear Loctite Threadlocked Screws


Melted Puck Showcase…this was to be expected

Cleaning 2nd Gear After Torching the Screws is Easy

Breakdown of the Disassembled 2nd Gear

Scraping Melted Shift Dampeners;  or Puck You, Melted Plastic


Assembling 2nd Gear and Installing New Pucks

Threadlocking 101 – Loctite Blue

Installing 2nd Gear

2nd Gear Clutch Install


1st Gear Clutch Install

Clutch Lock Washer and Nut – As far as I can tell, this is the only video on the net that actually shows what’s up with this thing…

1st Gear Install

1st Gear Bearings

WEWT.  All done.  My bike is running, and I think I’ll go for a ride now.

1/2W for life.

UPDATE:

Case Cover Bearings Removal – Disregard the part where I mention knocking the post all the way into the case, it was early in the morning and there is no way to do that since they are set into a stop to keep them from going too far in…that said, still make sure they’ve been removed because it won’t work if they’re in the case cover.

Case Cover Bearings Installation



7 Responses to “ZA50 Breakdown Videos”


  1. April 21, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    This blog’s where its happenning. Keep up the good work.

  2. 2 oofnik
    May 1, 2009 at 9:36 pm

    Thank you thank you for posting up these vids! I will be using it this summer to help a bud rebuild his ZA50. Awesome!!

  3. 3 brownb0x
    May 9, 2009 at 5:23 pm

    Glad you guys are digging the videos. I just added the case cover bearing removal/installation videos to the end there. Not much to it, but I am of the opinion others are probably like me in that they like to see things in addition to just reading about them.

    Keep on ripping.

  4. 4 Kees-maxi
    May 27, 2010 at 1:33 pm

    When pressing the bearer in the trannycover, NEVER hit the inside ring, you wil damage the bearer that way. Instead use a pipe that meets the outer ring of the bearer(or use an old bearer with that same size)

  5. 5 Jake
    January 19, 2013 at 12:45 am

    Why were you not wearing gloves of some kind when you heat up the 2nd gear or the case!? Also I will be using this to tear apart my za50 tranny in the coming months. Great job man!

    • 6 beatresearcher
      January 20, 2013 at 5:47 am

      I’m just crazy (lazy) like that I guess. Really, in hindsight I could have gone with a bit less torch and it would have probably been fine, but I was beyond ready to get those screws out by that time.


Leave a comment


April 2009
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Flickr Photos