09
May
09

Got the Puch Running Again!

So, after the ZA50 work and replacing the case bearings for the new case cover my Sport MKII is running like a champ again. I can’t wait to get it back on some proper rides.

Jed has offered tolet me borrow his 50cc hi-comp head, so we’ll see what that does for performance, but I ended up taking the hi-flow air filter off and replacing it with the stock airbox because I was just running way too lean. It immediately shot back up from 25 on flats to 30+ again, so things seem to be right in the universe again. Next purchase will be a performance exhaust, but for now the derestricted stock pipe shall have to do.

I’ve added the bearing removal and installation videos to the ZA50 breakdown post, but there’s really not much to it unless you just wanna see how I did it.  Otherwise, here are the basic instructions from what I did:

Heat gun set at 1100°F, heat up the inside of the case around each bearing for a few minutes and turn it over and slam it against a smooth hard surface a couple times. Bearings just fall right out with a little cajoling. Then after having your new bearings in the fridge for a half an hour or so (I hear you can blast them with an upside down compressed air can to cool them sufficiently as well), heat up the case around one bearing inset at a time and drop them in. I used a rubber mallet and the handle of my 1/2″ ratchet, which fit perfectly onto the inner race of each bearing ring, to tap into place. You shouldn’t have to tap very hard if the case is heated enough and the bearings are cool enough. Mine went right in.


0 Responses to “Got the Puch Running Again!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment


May 2009
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Flickr Photos